“Conquested” exhibition did NOT conquest me.

On the Art events that you shouldn’t have seen, here is another one.

Temple Bar Gallery and Studios presented Conquested,  an exhibition curated by Aoife Tunney and featuring the work of 6 Irish artists Culturstruction, Aoife Desmond, Karl Burke, Dennis McNulty and Carl Giffney, actually 7 artists because Culturstruction is a collaborative practice of Jo Anne Butler and Tara Kennedy.

Confused yet?

It gets worse.

I read their intent on the Temple Bar Gallery website on this exhibition:

“Conquested takes as its starting point the short story, The Concentration City, by JG Ballard, 1952.  Set in a dystopian, futuristic city, the story centres around its protagonist Franz who had a dream about flying a home-made glider, in “totally free space. In three dimensions as it were”. He begins searching the length of the city, with its hundreds of levels of buildings, for somewhere big enough to fly. Others discount his quest as crazy; “free space, isn’t that a contradiction in terms? Space is a dollar in cubic feet,” his friend remarked. This city, he discovers is trapped behind a wall, either mythical or real, and inside the experience of the city is that space comes before humans.  Development has closed down free space.”

In theory, that was an excellent idea. But what they did with it was a disaster.

“The artists’ practices within Conquested consider flexible architecture, nature and the city, the physical experience of the self among architecture, the psychology of space, the notion of planning, drawing and technology, myth, communication, time, place and memory.”

It sounds like they didn’t really know what they were doing and they throw all their ideas in a hat and the result is: like their intent…messy.

This was happening 20 October – 25 November 2011 in the Temple Bar Gallery but fortunately for you, this exhibition is over.

So where to start. Again, I found myself wandering on a Saturday afternoon looking for something Artistically challenging.

So much for that.

I walked in. Another day. Another empty gallery.

I looked around and failed to understand the subject of this exhibition.

To my right in a sort of cubicle -slash- basic projection room, there was a film showing of a red rusty car in the middle of a forest while the rain fell down. After two or three minutes of the same image, I grew a bit bored.

I turned to look at the two charming young Art students (my guess) to understand what the film was about. They kind of explained to me that the artist was questioning how we lived in the urban environment and nature’s role in the city. Wasteland areas and derelict sites are the focus of her enquiry.

I liked the theme and intention but sadly,  intention is worthless if the result fails to impress!

And I think it failed completely in the questioning part. If maybe it had been filmed over a period of time where you saw how the car is degrading and “soiling” the soil, maybe that would have been raising questions in people’s mind but it didn’t do that.

Anyway that was Aoife Desmond’s work called “Buddleja Forest” a super 8 boredom, I mean film of 13 minutes.

Should I even talk about the rest?

Well from Culturstruction, we had a random (or so it felt to me) wood and paper assemblage called “the rise and fall”  and it did exactly that: it created a very quick rise and fall of my interest.

If only I had taken a picture to show you how bad it was so you could visually see how little sense their artwork made, I think I would have finish to convince you. I did look it up on the web to see if there was a picture of their work. Alas. No such luck. You’ll just have to take my word for it.

However I did find that they have a website, WHICH you will research yourself in Google as I am not here to promote them.

However I did read that: “Culturstruction apparently has at heart to challenge accepted processes of conceiving, making and managing our built environs. The need to do so is urgent.”

Right. Well the need to do this was apparently so urgent that they couldn’t find a better way to promote their work because well they failed miserably in sending this message onto the viewer, and me in this particular instance.

I’ll move on to the next part.

Still determined to understand I tried to look for the next artwork by Dennis McNulty called “Amateur prospectors” and failed to find that work until I noticed something but surely I told myself, this could not be it!

But it was.

Between me and the opposite wall where the “rise and fall” hung, was  something like five different beige and light brown paint  on the floor. This might have been complemented by household paint tester pots on the side but I seriously don’t remember. And I don’t care.

I couldn’t find any of his work on the web so I add something that vaguely resembled to what I saw, only they were 5 different colours (5 might be important, who knows?) and arranged in circle and beige looking.

Your guess is as good as mine.

This was Art, by Dennis McNulty.

I was not going to stay and watch the 6 seconds nor even the 25 mins of Karl Burke, “Conquested“, video of 25.06 min or Carl Giffney, “C C R 2“, 7 mins of high definition video.

I left.

Conquested” did NOT conquest me.

But if you are conquested by this type of non-sense Art, there’s plenty more to see with a Bit Symphony by Liam O’Callaghan in the same terrible galley, I mean gallery. It is an audio-visual installation consisting of an assemblage of turntables, amplifiers and speakers.

At the risk of sounding like a broken record, You won’t miss much.

Worst is the fact that this cacophony will start soon the 16 December and will finish way too late: 04 February 2012.

Not only this exhibition will be probably merciless on your eyes but it will be merciless on your ears.

This entry was published on December 8, 2011 at 11:17 pm. It’s filed under Art Galleries, Visual Modern Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

